MOTOR VEHICLE (TAGS)
It is your responsibility to renew your tag before the expiration date. Any changes to a renewal must come into the tag office. There is no grace period; your tag must be renewed by the end of your renewal month to avoid penalty and interest. There are several types of tags that require documentation each year that we must have before we can renew the tag, such as National Guard, Active Reserve, Firefighter, Rescue Squad, Fraternal Order of Police, Realtors, etc.
Motor Vehicle Registrations Renewal Months by first letter of last name:
A and D - January
B - February
C and E - March
F, G and N - April
H and O - May
M and I - June
P and L - July
K and R - August
Q, S and T - September
U, V, W, X, Y and Z - October
October/November - National Guard, Heavy Trucks, Commercial and Fleet Vehicles
Collecting Ad valorem on Motor Vehicles and Manufactured Housing:
Ad valorem Taxes for personal vehicles are based on 15% of the value which, is calculated by the State of Alabama. Recreational vehicles, motorcycles and vehicles used for commercial purposes are taxed at 30%.
Ad Valorem Tax Voucher
(Beginning date: August 2000)
In order to receive a voucher, one of the following criteria must be met: selling of a vehicle, trading of a vehicle, total destruction of a vehicle, theft without recovery or other transfer.
Documents to support the above criteria:
Casual sale or trade…affidavit of buyer and address
Sale or trade to license dealer…dealer’s bill of sale
Theft of vehicle…report from law authority
Lease trade-in…odometer statement
Statement from insurance of company stating date of total loss
The voucher can only be issued to the registered owner and proof of identification must be provided
The credit can be applied to pay the ad valorem tax on another vehicle.
Alabama law sets the eligibility time period to receive a credit voucher 1 year from sale or other transfer date.
The voucher may only be redeemed in the county where it is issued.
The voucher can only be transferred by the owner to their spouse or dependent child.
In order to renew a tag registration please bring with you the following items:
Valid identification, current insurance and renewal reminder card or last tag registration.
Be advised that a tag may not be renewed if the identification of the registrant cannot be verified by the AL Verify system or by presentation of valid identification. Also, the tag may not be renewed if the insurance cannot be verified by the OVIS system or by presentation of the current insurance card.
Vehicles that are renewed late are subject to a $15.00 late fee, plus applicable interest according to state law. Late penalty may only be waived for vehicles that are stored or inoperable for one or more years and the customer must sign an affidavit of non-use. This affidavit exempts the customer from late penalty only, all ad valorem tax must be brought current regardless of vehicle usage.
RENEWAL BY MAIL:
A courtesy registration renewal reminder is mailed for each vehicle that is currently registered in Conecuh County. The reminders are mailed the first few days of each renewal month. Although these courtesy reminders are mailed, it is still the responsibility of the vehicle owner to make sure the vehicle is registered and fees paid. Please bring your courtesy reminder or last registration with you when renewing. The driver license number(s) of the owner(s) of record and proof of insurance is also required.
Vehicles may be renewed via the mail. Please mail the renewal reminder along with a check or money order and (be sure to include the $2.00 mail fee for each vehicle) to the address shown on reminder card. Be sure to have the owner(s) of record sign the cards and include their driver license number(s), expiration date(s) and insurance information. In order for the renewal to be processed via the mail renewal card and payment must be in our office by the 25th day of the month. Renewals that are received late are subject to a $15.00 late fee, plus applicable interest according to state law. Late penalty may only be waived for vehicles that are stored or inoperable for one or more years and the customer must sign an affidavit of non-use. This affidavit exempts the customer from late penalty only, all ad valorem tax must be brought current regardless of vehicle usage.
NEW RESIDENTS FROM ANOTHER ALABAMA COUNTY
Residents moving from another Alabama county will need to bring in the renewal reminder or the previous year’s registration in order to obtain Conecuh County plates. You may wait until your renewal month to transfer the registration.
Beginning January 1, 2013, motorists will be required to provide current proof of liability insurance on each motor vehicle.
NEW/USED VEHICLE INSPECTION
PER CODE OF ALABAMA RULING 810-5-5.13, a physical inspection of the motor vehicle to verify the vehicle identification number and the descriptive data shown on the current title or manufacturer certificates of origin (MCO) is required for all, MCO’s and transfer of out of state titles:
Fee for Title Application is $18.00
Vehicles purchased outside the State of Alabama with a Title from another State will require the surrender of the current title and application of an Alabama title, if a title is required by the state of Alabama for registration.
Vehicles purchased outside the State of Alabama that are not currently titled and are subject to registration and titling in the State of Alabama.
Fee for Title Application is $18.00
In order to avoid a $15.00 late registration fee, newly acquired vehicles must be registered within 20 calendar days from the date of purchase.
Documentation needed for the purchase of registration. Customers with vehicles purchased from an Alabama Dealer, must present application for Alabama title, bill of sale, valid identification, and current insurance.
Customers with vehicles purchased from out of state dealers will be required to pay any unpaid sales tax and possibly a title transfer fee for the vehicle.
Customers with vehicles purchased from an individual will be required to pay sales tax and apply for a title. If the vehicle was last registered in Alabama all ad valorem taxes will have to be brought current before the vehicle can be registered.
If you are currently stationed outside the State of Alabama and require assistance with your tag renewal please contact this office at 251-578-7023, or email at firstname.lastname@example.org
More information may be found by visiting the State of Alabama website at www.revenue.alabama.gov
Fee for title application of a manufactured home is $23.00.
When registering manufactured homes, 20 years old and newer models require a title or Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin (MCO). All models require a bill of sale. You have 30 days from purchase date in which to register your manufactured home without a penalty. You can be penalized if the manufactured home decal is not displayed properly. Citation fees are $15.00. If not paid within 15 days, an additional $24.00 penalty will be charged. For additional information on manufactured homes call (251)578-7023
FOR MORE INFORMATION
Judge of Probate
Chief Probate Clerk
Motor Vehicle Chief Clerk
Administration Office Hours
Monday – Friday 7:45am - 4:30pm
County Courthouse Hours
Monday – Friday 8:00am - 4:00pm
111 Court Street
Evergreen, AL 36401
Probate Office: ROOM 104
Phone: (251) 578-1221
Motor Vehicle: ROOM 101
Phone: (251) 578-7023
PO BOX 149
Evergreen, AL 36401